Soundbites

Do you make To-do lists?  I have to have them.  I have an app on my phone right now that has a list of things to do, and I’m constantly updating it, especially during this time of year!  I’m so paranoid about forgetting things, I even have the same app loaded on my office computer, and I have my phone synchronized to my computer so that my list is always current!  Every year I get this way, and every year God has to remind me that JESUS needs to be the first thing on our “list.”  He needs to be at the top of any other priorities we may have.  A good way to keep things in perspective is to ask, “Where is Jesus on my list?”  I’m afraid that for far too many of us, He is near the bottom – the parties, programs, gifts, family dinners and community events seem to fight for the very top.

We can even let church activities take priority over Him.  I think sometimes we get so busy with “doing stuff” that we forget He is the reason we are doing it in the first place!  Where is Jesus?  He’s quietly at the bottom of that list, or even not on it at all.

We should all re-evaluate our priorities today – we should put Jesus first, and everything else will find its proper place.

One of the scribes came and heard them arguing, and recognizing that He had answered them well, asked Him, “What commandment is the foremost of all?”  Jesus answered, “The foremost is, ‘HEAR, O ISRAEL! THE LORD OUR GOD IS ONE LORD;  AND YOU SHALL LOVE THE LORD YOUR GOD WITH ALL YOUR HEART, AND WITH ALL YOUR SOUL, AND WITH ALL YOUR MIND, AND WITH ALL YOUR STRENGTH.’  Mark 12:28-30 (NASB)

 

Leave a Reply

