A “Country Club” Christianity?

God has been placing some thoughts in front of me lately. When you start noticing the same idea from different sources, you tend to sit up and take notice. Ever have that happen? For me, God has repeatedly asked the question: Is Jesus Lord of your life?

I don’t think this is directed solely at me, although I know that there are areas in my life that I still need to completely surrender to Him. Are we as Christians turning over complete control to our Savior? Are there any areas that we still try to control? Are we guilty of being satisfied with just being a Christian? Isn’t there more to it than that? Jesus said, “If any man will come after me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross daily, and follow me.” Luke 9:23.

It’s pretty evident here that Jesus is to be more than just our Savior—He is to be Lord of our LIFE. We are commanded to take up our cross daily.  The question to ask ourselves is, “am I living a country club christianity?”.  Did we pay our initial membership fee (get saved) and go to church occasionally (pay our dues) but never grow in our faith (use the benefits we pay for)?  Do we feel satisfied (dangerous word there!) with just going to church on Sunday morning and saying the blessing at mealtime?  Do we truly desire to follow Christ in EVERY aspect of life?  There is much more to it than just walking down the aisle and getting baptised afterwards.  I will leave you with a great quote I came across this week. Of all places, it came from the devotional book that we read to our children each night:

“Salvation is not a cafeteria where you take what you want and leave the rest. You cannot take Christ as Savior and refuse Him as Lord.” – Vance Havner.

Leave a Reply

